Fri. Jul 30th, 2021
IPL 2020 Points Table

The IPL series witnessed an intense face-off between Mumbai Indians (MI) and Delhi Capitals (DC) in Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi, on 11th October 2020. Deeming victorious, the Mumbai Indians have taken over the first spot on the table once again. The four-time champions chased an easy target of 163 and secured their 5th victory in seven games. DC has won an equal number of matches, but they are in the second position as their Net Run Rate is less than that of MI.

IPL 2020 Points Table
IPL 2020 Points Table

The Point Table of IPL 2020

Here is the point table of the 13th IPL season so far.

  1. Mumbai Indians – 10 pts (5 wins)
  2. Delhi Capitals – 10 pts (5 wins)
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 10 pts (5 wins)
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders – 8 pts (4 wins)
  5. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 6 pts (3 wins)
  6. Rajasthan Royals – 6 pts (3 wins)
  7. Chennai Super Kings – 4 pts (2 wins)
  8. Kings XI Punjab – 2 pts (1 win)

Each team has played seven matches in total.

ALSO READ: Shah Rukh Khan recalls Al Pacino’s iconic dialogue to describe KKR’s

The Orange Cap

The player with the most runs is awarded the Orange Cap. It is the batsmen’s award. Throughout the season, the cap is passed on from player-to-player as and when someone breaks the run-record. At the end of the season, the player with the most runs gets to take it home. Currently, KL Rahul holds the Orange Cap of IPL 2020 with 387 runs. Next on the list is Mayank Agarwal from the same team, and then Faf du Plessis from Chennai Super Kings.

The top five batsmen are:

  1. KL Rahul
  2. Mayank Agarwal
  3. Faf Du Plessis
  4. David Warner
  5. Jonny Bairstow

The Purple Cap

The bowler with the highest number of wickets gets the Purple Cap. It is the bowlers’ trophy. Much like the Orange Cap, the Purple Cap is also passed on from player-to-player. At the end of the season, the bowler who has taken the most wickets gets to keep the Purple Cap. Currently, Kagiso Rabada from Delhi Capitals holds the cap with 12 wickets. Next on the list is Jasprit Bumrah from Mumbai Indians, followed by Trent Boult from the same team.

Here are the top 5 wicket-takers:

  1. Kagiso Rabada
  2. Jasprit Bumrah
  3. Trent Boult
  4. Rashid Khan
  5. Yuzvendra Chahal

The Purple Cap is a relatively new concept compared to the Orange Cap because the BCCI felt that bowlers are an integral part of the game too.

By Man Mohan

Man Mohan is the co-founder of He is a top-notch writer in Space science section of this website. He is one of the main staff writers of The He always suggests his readers follow his words, not his actions. Moreover, he is a good father and loves cappuccino. Contact him at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *